Postcoach is a place for post secondary, club and professional coaches to gather and share tips, techniques and insight.

We welcome all coaches in the discussion forums.

Join our Mailing List
Enter your email to join our mailing list.

    Follow Us


    Holland College Named Host Of The 2023 CCAA Women’s Soccer Championship

    Holland College Named Host Of The 2023 CCAA Women's Soccer Championship
    Courtesy of the ACAA:

    The following post is from February 13th from the ACAA

    Charlottetown, PEI – The Holland College Hurricanes have been named the hosts for the 2023 CCAA Women’s Soccer Championships to be held at the Credit Union Place in Summerside, Prince Edward Island.

    The event is scheduled for November 8-11 and will feature the top eight collegiate women’s soccer teams from across Canada as they compete to crown the 2023 National Champion.

    “To say we are excited to host the CCAA Women’s Soccer National Championship in Summerside would be an understatement,” shared Director of Athletics and Recreation at Holland College, Albert Roche. “Everyone involved sees the wonderful opportunity to work with the City of Summerside and the Credit Union Place to welcome teams from across the nation to our Island.”

    This will be the Hurricanes’ 10th time hosting a CCAA National Championship, with it being the first time they’ve hosted in Summerside. Holland College has previously hosted CCAA National Championships in 2008 (golf, Fox Meadow), 2011 (golf, Brudenell), 2012 (women’s soccer, Cornwall), 2015 (men’s volleyball, Charlottetown), 2016 (golf, Fox Meadow) (women’s volleyball, Charlottetown), 2017 (men’s basketball, Charlottetown), 2018 (men’s soccer, Cornwall) and 2022 (women’s volleyball, Charlottetown).

    “Today’s announcement is exciting for athletes, families, and fans,” shared Dan Kutcher, Mayor for the City of Summerside. “It is also very exciting for our local tourism and business sector who stand to benefit from the over $3.5 million in projected economic benefit these events carry.”

    The Hurricanes will compete as hosts, with the other seven qualifying positions going to members of the Atlantic Collegiate Athletic Association (ACAA), Réseau du sport étudiant du Québec (RSEQ), Ontario Colleges Athletic Association (OCAA), Manitoba Colleges Athletic Conference (MCAC), Alberta Colleges Athletic Conference (ACAC), and the Pacific Western Athletic Association (PACWEST).  Teams earn berths into the national championship by winning their conference titles, or one of the wildcard positions.

    The Hurricanes, six-time ACAA champions (2008, 2010, 2013, 2016, 2019, 2021), will return to regular season action in the fall alongside the other six teams in the ACAA, where they will look to build momentum towards a seventh ACAA banner, and being at their best at the CCAA Championship.

    “This is a very exciting challenge for our program,” shared veteran striker, and the program’s all-time leading goal scorer, Emily Lepine. “Soccer is a lifelong passion and we’re grateful to have the opportunity to play at this level, but to have the opportunity to compete at a national championship is even more special. We’re all really looking forward to it. This will be an excellent opportunity to grow and recruit to our program for the years to come.”


    No Comments

    Leave a Comment